Try Serenytics for free - 14 Days
>> Back to tutorials menu

Share a dashboard

Understand the difference between the Viewer app and the Studio app

In the previous tutorials, you have only used what is called the Serenytics studio. The URL you use is https://app.serenytics.com/studio. This web application is dedicated to the creation of dataflows and dashboards.

Serenytics provides another application called the Serenytics Viewer. This application allows its users to read dashboards shared with them. It is very simple to use and does not require any training. The URL to access this application is https://app.serenytics.com/viewer.

When we say "share a dashboard to a user", we mean that we want this dashboard to be available to this user in its viewer application.

Dashboards are usually shared to users of type "viewers" (they can only open the viewer app, not the studio). But you can also share dashboards to a studio user.

Create the viewer user

To share a dashboard to a given user, this user must exist in Serenytics. If the user already exists, you can skip this paragraph.

If you are an Admin user, you can create a user following the next steps. If you don't see the Admin menu, you're not an Admin user and can't create new users. If the user does not exist and you're not an admin, you need to ask your admin to create it for you in Serenytics.

To create a new user, open the Admin menu:
Admin menu
Then click on the "+" icon in the top left corner and fill the email and password of the new user. By default, the user has the Viewer type (he can only view dashboards, not create/edit them):
Admin menu
Open the sharing options for a dashboard
To share a given dashboard to a user, you must open the sharings dialog of this dashboard. To do so, open the dashboard in the editor and in the Global settings tab (the last one), click on the "Sharing options" button at the bottom:
Sharing options button

Tip: in your dashboards list, right below the name of a dashboard, the current dashboard sharing mode is displayed. If you click on this mode, the same sharing options dialog pops up.

The sharing modes
By default, when you open the sharing options of a newly created dashboard, it is set to private mode: the dashboard is only available to you, in your editor application. By default, it's not even visible by you in your viewer app:
Sharing options dialog

The three other modes are:

  • Public: in this mode, the dashboard can be accessed without a Serenytics login. You can copy the dashboard link (at the top of the dialog) and send it by email to anyone. The recipient of your email can open this link without any login/password verification. DO NOT USE this mode except for public data.
  • Protected: that's the main mode where you specify which Serenytics users (or groups of users) can access this dashboard. Details are provided below.
  • Embedded: this is a very specific mode used to embed dashboards within another web application. This is only used if you are a software editor or an advanced user.

Configure the Protected mode
To share a dashboard to a user, select the Protected mode and in the first field, select the user:
Share with a user
Tip: if you want to have this dashboard visible in your own Viewer app, add yourself in the list.
Open the viewer app
The recipient user (John Doe in our example) can now open the viewer app (https://app.serenytics.com/viewer). He will see the list of dashboards he has access to, including this new one:
Viewer screenshot

He can click on one dashboard to open it (without the possibility to modify it).

In the Viewer app, a user can click on the star icon on the right of a dashboard to set it as a favorite. The selected dashboard will stay at the top of the list in a large icon.

Favorites dashboard in viewer
Share with a group

To share a dashboard to several users, you can repeat the steps. But if you have many of them and many dashboards, that's not practical. Instead, you should use groups of users.

The process is very similar. You must first create the users as above. Then you need to create the groups (in the tab Groups of the Admin menu). Once a group is created, click on the cog icon to add users to this group.

Create users groups

And then, in the sharings options of a dashboard, select the groups instead of the users. The users of the selected groups will have access to this dashboard in their viewer app.

Share a dashboard to a group
Try Serenytics for free - 14 Days
>> Back to tutorials menu
×